Town Mayor and Ian Cass of the Forum of Private Business

2023 Town Awards Shortlist Announced

The spotlight is being shone on Knutsford’s community heroes this month with the shortlist being announced for the 10th annual Knutsford Town Awards.

The awards, which are sponsored by the Forum of Private Business, recognise the work individuals, community groups and businesses undertake for the Knutsford community.

A special award ceremony is being hosted at Knutsford Little Theatre on Wednesday 15th March from 7pm as part of the Annual Town Meeting.  The event starts with a short talk from Knutsford and District Talking Newspaper about the work the group does to bring the Knutsford Guardian to the visually impaired of Knutsford and surrounding villages before featuring an open forum for residents to raise any issues they want to see discussed in the community.

Town Mayor, Cllr Mike Houghton and Ian Cass, Managing Director of the Forum of Private Business then have the honour of celebrating the shortlisted nominees and announcing the winners of the 2023 awards.

This year’s shortlist is as follows:

Civic Award (3 awards)

Three Civic Awards are presented to individuals who give their time voluntarily to undertake work in the community there are 7 shortlisted for the awards this year:

  • Judy Clifford
  • Joe Godden
  • Gemma Jackson
  • Rob Lyons
  • Ken and Louise Rhodes
  • Claire Sawyer

Business Award

One business will be recognised with the Business Award, which goes to a business or business leader who has supported or worked with the community, four businesses are in the running for the 2023 award:

  • Detaljer
  • Dan Belcher, Guys Barbers Knutsford
  • Morgan Edwards
  • Tatton Perk

Community Award

The Community Award goes to a community organisation, this year three worthy groups have been shortlisted:

  • Knutsford and District Talking Newspaper
  • The Welcome
  • Wrap up Knutsford

 Extra Mile Award

The Extra Mile Award is presented to someone who as part of their paid job is going above and beyond to the benefit of the community. This year sees three shortlisted nominees:

  • Alison Hooper, Egerton Primary School
  • Jack Street, Johnsons the Cleaners
  • Miriam Wilson, Knutsford Medical Partnership

On announcing the shortlist, Cllr Mike Houghton said: “I know we say this every year but everyone on the shortlist should be incredibly proud that someone has taken the time to put their name forward for recognition for what they do for Knutsford and I am really looking forward to celebrating their achievements with them at the awards ceremony later this month”