The Mayor of Knutsford (Town Mayor) is elected annually from amongst the councillors at the Annual Town Council meeting in May (also called the Mayor Making). The Mayor serves as both Chairman of the Town Council and the ceremonial figurehead for Knutsford

The title Mayor of Knutsford was first established in the late 13th century when the town was granted a charter however it became extinct and little is known of the early  mayors; the title was revived in 1974 when the Town Council was formed.

Addressing the Mayor of Knutsford

The formal way to address the Mayor is Mr or Madam Mayor.

A female Mayor is never called a Mayoress – this is an optional title for the Mayor’s Consort.


As first citizen of Knutsford, the Town Mayor fulfils an ambassadorial and ceremonial role representing the town. The mayor is invited to attend around 150 events every year, ranging from opening fetes and new shops, attending community events and representing the town at events such as the North West in Bloom awards.

The Town Mayor also chairs meetings of the Full Council and by virtue of office may attend and vote at all council committee meetings.

Each year the Town Mayor also raises funds for chosen charities by hosting a number of community fundraising events and an annual Civic Ball.

Cllr Stewart Gardiner, Mayor of Knutsford

Councillor Stewart Gardiner
Town Mayor 2021-22


Click the button below to submit an invitation for the Town Mayor to attend your celebration, opening or event please

Cllr Stewart Gardiner, Mayor of Knutsford


Cllr Stewart Gardiner was elected Town Mayor in November 2020 and will serve an extended term of 18 months through to May 2022. Cllr Gardiner is supported by his husband Simon Hutchence, Mayor’s Consort; Cllr Mike Houghton, Deputy Town Mayor and Rev Paul Deakin, Mayor’s Chaplain.

I am very humbled that for the second time, during my twelve and a half years as a Knutsford Town Councillor my peers have elected me to be the Town Mayor an honour which is particularly touching because I am only a Knutsfordian by adoption. I have lived here now for 17 years; the Queen Street home I share with my now husband is the place where I have lived the longest and I never forget just how lucky I am to live in such a lovely place. I have said before it is not just the beauty of the environment that makes it so special but the inner beauty of the people who live here and the sense of community they help to engender in the Town.

During my tenure as Town Mayor I will be looking to raise money for two charities; the Knutsford Branch of the Royal British Legion and the Knutsford Branch of the St Vincent de Paul Society.

I also want to reprise something I was initially criticised for doing during my first term of office and that is to be a conduit between the Town Council and the wider community of the Town. Therefore, if you run a club, society, business, or community project and you think that you might benefit from the Mayor’s support or assistance from the Town Council please invite me in to see for myself.  Similarly, to schools, churches, and youth groups I would be happy to visit you all – to talk about the work of the Council and the role of the Mayor, to open your fete or draw a prize-raffle or even just to say hello.

Cllr Andrew Malloy - Town Mayor

Councillor Andrew Malloy
Town Mayor 2019-20

Councillor Peter Coan
Town Mayor 2018-19

Neil Forbes Town Mayor 2016

Councillor Neil Forbes
Town Mayor 2017-18

Jan Nicholson Town Mayor 2016

Councillor Jan Nicholson
Town Mayor 2016-17

Cllr Tony Dean

Councillor Tony Dean
Town Mayor 2015-16


Year of OfficeTown MayorYear of OfficeTown MayorYear of OfficeTown Mayor
1974/75R Parr1990/91H Grange2006/07A Ranfield
1975/76R Shepherd1991/92J Jordan2007/08J Nicholson
1976/77W Walker1992/93J Holbrook2008/09J Holbrook
1977/78J Walley1993/94B Austin2009/10L Want
1978/79J Gledhill1994/95D Squirrel2010/11P Coan
1979/80S O'Brien1995/96D Davies2011/12S Gardiner
1980/81V Young1996/97J Holbrook2012/13V Davies
1981/82M Page1997/98D Squirrel2013/14B Coan
1982/83H Grange1998/99H Gates2014/15N Forbes
1983/84A Mazzeo1999/00H Grange2015/16T Dean
1984/85B Crossley2000/01J Holbrook2016/17J Nicholson
1985/86B Phibbs2001/02G Walton2017/18N Forbes
1986/87S Forbes2002/03A Ranfield2018/19P Coan
1987/88K Fairhurst2003/04V Boston-Davies2019/20A Malloy
1988/89M Howarth2004/05B Austin2020-22S Gardiner
1989/90M Page2005/06W Hamman