Crosstown Community Orchard sign with bunting

Cross Town Election Results

The votes of Thursday’s (4th May) Cross Town ward election have been counted and the results declared. Completing the council’s membership for the 2023-2027 term.

Four candidates stood for election for three seats. The results were as follows:

Peter CoanConservative393 (E)
Lesley DalzellIndependent473 (E)
Rex MearsIndependent484 (E)
Tim ReganConservative340

The Nether, Norbury Booths, St John’s Wood and Bexton and Town Centre wards were each uncontested, returning three councillors each unopposed. The new council takes office on 9th May and comprises ten Independent and five Conservative councillors.

The full list of councillors is:

  • Colin Banks (Independent) – St Johns Wood
  • Peter Coan (Conservative) – Cross Town
  • Lesley Dalzell (Independent) – Cross Town
  • Jennifer Forrest (Conservative) – St Johns Wood
  • Stewart Gardiner (Conservative) – Bexton and Town Centre
  • Christopher Gray (Conservative) – Norbury Booths
  • Bryan Hartley (Independent) – Nether
  • April Johnson (Independent) – Bexton and Town Centre
  • Scott Lowe (Independent) – Nether
  • Rex Mears (Independent) – Cross Town
  • James McCulloch (No Description) – St Johns Wood
  • Matthew Robertson (Conservative) – Norbury Booths
  • Su Russell (Independent) – Norbury Booths
  • Gus Watson (Independent) – Bexton and Town Centre
  • Matthew Wood (Independent) – Nether

Contact information for new councillors will be published shortly.

Council Offices

One ward contested for Town Council Election

Nominations for the Town Council elections closed yesterday with 16 Knutsford residents putting themselves forward for election to the council.

Only one ward is contested, meaning there will be a poll for Cross Town on Thursday 4th May with four candidates seeking election to the three seats.

In Bexton and Town Centre, Norbury Booths, St John’s Wood and Nether wards there was no contest, with three candidates being elected unopposed in each ward.

Bexton and Town Centre Ward

Uncontested – those listed below will be elected unopposed.

GARDINER, StewartConservative23 Queen StreetJacqui Elliott
JOHNSON, AprilIndependent25 Mobberley RoadLewis Baron
WATSON, GusIndependentAddress in Cheshire EastPoppy Higham

Cross Town Ward

Contested – poll to be held on 4th May.

COAN, PeterConservativeMereside, 2 Birch GroveKeith Hamilton
DALZELL, LesleyIndependentAddress in Cheshire EastDeborah Jamison
MEARS, RexIndependent25 Mobberley RoadBarry Wardle
REGAN, TimConservative22 Legh House, Hollow LanePaul Grimbaldeston

Nether Ward

Uncontested – those listed below will be elected unopposed.

HARTLEY, BryanIndependentBesom Hill Cottage, Tabley RoadAnthony Hewitt
LOWE, ScottIndependentAddress in Cheshire EastJames Pulham
WOOD, MatthewIndependentAddress in Cheshire EastBennett Wilkinson

Norbury Booths Ward

Uncontested – those listed below will be elected unopposed.

GRAY, ChristopherConservative8 Glebelands RoadChristine Gray
ROBERTSON, MatthewConservative17 Beggarmans LanePeter Raynes
RUSSELL, SuIndependentAddress in Cheshire EastSebastian Russell

St John’s Wood Ward

Uncontested – those listed below will be elected unopposed.

BANKS, ColinIndependent77 BoothfieldsMadeleine Knowles
FORREST, JenniferConservativeAddress in Cheshire EastClive Rustage
MCCULLOCH, James 10 Gaskell RiseDavid Larenzo-Law

Seven of the current town councillors are not seeking a further term, Neil Forbes is retiring after 16 years alongside Andrew Malloy (12 years), James Power (8 years), Liz Beswick (6 years), Quentin Abel (4 years), Mike Houghton (4 years) and Millie Morris (2 years).

Residents of Cross Town ward have until 17th April to register to vote if they are not already on the electoral roll (, until 18th April to request a postal vote and until 25th April to apply for a voter authority certificate if they do not have ID (

All councillors remain in office until Tuesday 9th May, when all existing councillors retire and the new councillors come into office.

Council Offices

Notice of By-Elections

The countdown to two by-elections for Knutsford Town Council has officially commenced with the publication of the formal notice of election.

The elections, which if contested will both be held on Thursday May 6th, were called following the resignation of Katherine Fletcher in April 2020 (Nether Ward) and the death of Barbara Hamilton Coan in November (Bexton Ward). The elected councillors will serve until the next full elections in May 2023.

Those vying for election can download nomination papers from the Electoral Commission website or from Macclesfield Town Hall and candidates now have until 4pm on Thursday 8th April to hand-deliver their nomination papers to the Returning Officer at Macclesfield Town Hall.

Candidates need a proposer and seconder living in the ward in which they are standing and must phone 01270 685922 to make an appointment to deliver completed nomination papers.

Town Clerk, Adam Keppel-Green said “This is your opportunity to put yourself forward to represent the community and help direct the work of the town council. We will provide all the training and guidance that new councillors need, and councils are strongest with a diverse membership, so please don’t think that being a councillor is not for you.”

Unlike borough councillors, town councillors do not receive an allowance and freely give their time in service to the community.

Residents who are not yet registered to vote in the by-elections, which take place the same day as elections for the Police and Crime Commissioner, have until 19th April to apply – applications can be made online at  Applications for postal or proxy votes must be made by 5pm on Tuesday 20th April

Formal Notices

Notice of Election – Bexton Ward

Notice of Election – Nether Ward

A graphic which says make a change, become a councillor.

Become a Councillor

On Thursday May 6th two by-elections will be held to fill the vacancies on Bexton ward and Nether ward.

The elections process will start at the end of March when the notice of election is published. Potential candidates will then have until 4pm on Thursday 8th April to hand deliver their nomination papers to Cheshire East Council, the elections authority.

We’ve added a new section to our website to help you understand how you could become a councillor. Check it out here: Become a Knutsford Town Councillor Page

Full details on the elections will be available on our Elections Page.

Town Councillors at Mayor Making 2019

Opportunity for Nether Ward by-election

Electors living in Knutsford’s Nether Ward now have the opportunity to demand an election to fill the vacancy created when Katherine Fletcher stepped down from the council in April as Knutsford Town Council has today posted the notice of vacancy.

If ten electors write to Cheshire East Council before 4th August requesting a by-election to fill the seat an election will be triggered. If an election is not triggered the existing councillors will choose a new councillor to fill the vacancy.

Under current legislation an election will not be held until May 2021 as all elections, national and local, have been suspended until this date. If no election is called a new councillor will be co-opted in November.

To request an election electors must write to: The Returning Officer, Cheshire East Council, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach, CW11 1HZ stating they wish to request a by-election of the vacant Nether Ward seat on Knutsford Town Council, giving their full name and address.

Recognising the delays in postal services due to coronavirus, Cheshire East Council will also accept service of this demand by email to to ensure it is received by the deadline of 4th August but require that a hard copy is posted at the same time to comply with Electoral Commission guidelines.