A sculpture of King Canute in the council office gardens, with a tree

TWO NEW councillors have been elected in by-elections held on Thursday 6th May; both by-elections had been delayed due to the suspension of elections during the coronavirus pandemic.

The Bexton Ward by-election was called following the death of Cllr Barbara Hamilton Coan in November 2020 and two candidates sought election. Millie Morris (Conservative) was elected with 422 votes, defeating Amy Rosalind Hobson (Liberal Democrat) who secured 394 votes. The turnout was 38.78%.

In Nether Ward the by-election was called following the resignation of Cllr Katherine Fletcher in April 2020. Three candidates sought election but it was Scott Lowe (Independent) with 379 votes who was elected, beating Annie Greer (Conservative) with 319 votes and Bill Tenger (Liberal Democrat) with 162 votes. The turnout was 40.91%.

The Town Council congratulates its two newest members on their election and thanks all five candidates for putting themselves forward to represent their community.